Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content



Flagstone State School curriculum is drawn from The Australian Curriculum for English, Mathematics, Science and History and the Essential Learnings for the remaining key learning areas. Students are engaged in meaningful, stimulating learning designed to cater for their diverse needs, with integrated, well planned programs designed by year level teams in consultation with specialist teachers. Compelling contexts and purpose of learning are interwoven with current best practice about how students learn.   

The Australian Curriculum

The curriculum sets out the core knowledge, understanding, skills and general capabilities important for all Australian students. The Australian Curriculum describes the learning entitlement of students as a foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It makes clear what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students.

Learning Areas

The Learning Area and the content that will be taught and is divided into 6 components:

• Rationale

• Aims - what students will be able to demonstrate

• Organisation of Curriculum - an overview showing continuity of learning

• Curriculum Content Descriptors - explicit statements of content that will be taught,   including the knowledge, skills and understandings of particular learning areas

• Content Elaborations - illustrative examples of content descriptors

• Achievement Standards -descriptions of expectations of quality learning taught in that year of schooling

General Capabilities

General Capabilities are the tools for learning and ways of behaving; and will assist students in living and working successfully in the community and the ‘global world’. They are underpinned by seven areas: Literacy, Numeracy, Information Communication Technology, Critical and Creative Thinking, Ethical behaviour, Personal and Social competence and Intellectual understanding.

Cross curriculum Priorities

Cross Curriculum Priorities are designed to be embedded in all learning areas in appropriate ways to provide students with authentic learning experiences, deeper understandings and appreciation of countries, cultures and their needs. The three priorities include Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia and Sustainability.